Adoption file how long

Moderator: AfterAdoption

Adoption file how long

Postby ctassell » Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:20 pm

Hello I am new to this,

My dad was adopted in 1963, we think the agency used was barnardos, we applied to GRO filled out the form etc, I spoke to GRO today, they said they had my dads paperwork on a desk and they was sending the relevant docs to our local authority today which is Essex county council. We know he has to have a meeting etc. he already knows his birth name etc put wants to piece together his life before he was adopted. So if any one has had dealings with Essex county council regarding this matter, or anyone know if barnardos are quick with finding files. Also how long do you reckon we could be waiting, any help would be very much appreciated

Many thanks
ctassell

Re: Adoption file how long

Postby ladyarcher » Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:51 pm

I don't know how fast Essex works, but from many posts on here you will read that local authorities can take a very long time, months usually, and can run to over a year.......this is of course very upsetting and frustrating as people have often spent a long time working up the courage to do things, then to have to wait 'forever' is very disheartening..........however a few people have been lucky and get replies and interviews within a reasonable time, so hopefully this may apply to your father........