What Every Adopter Should Know By An Adoptee

Moderator: AfterAdoption

What Every Adopter Should Know By An Adoptee

Postby Larry » Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:01 pm

Hey, This post is a little long, but please read it and let me know if you have any suggestions - it would be a huge help! Cheers

(N.B. This is a slightly edit version of the posts that appear in both the 'Adoptees' and 'Talk Adpotion' threads.)

This is my first time on the message boards here so I feel like I should say 'Hi', and make myself known. So, Hi, and my name is Larry.

Anyway, I am actually here in somewhat of a professional capacity - my editor at 'Adoption UK' has asked me to write a piece entitled 'What Every Adopter Should Know, By An Adoptee'. I felt it would be most appropriate to post this topic in this thread (although it is posted in other areas too) as it is for adopted people (adoptees), and so you would be the people who could help me the most.

The article is meant to address issues such as concerns about being adopted; the problems with being adopted (from your experience at school / college etc - I know that for some of you that is a while back, hence I have posted the same topic in the youth board as well); how you dealt with these and any other problems that surrounded adoption, and other such questions. I have also been asked to look into how parents help their children to feel more safe and secure when it comes to adoption (perhaps, if you are of a youngish age, you could ask your adoptive parents how they helped you overcome this issue - if indeed it ever was an issue for you in the first place?!) Perhaps, also covering subjects such as loss, grief and truth from an adoptees' angle.

Basically, i've been asked to write an article that gives 'advice' to adopters that has been written by an adoptee (me). To use the word of my editor, an article that gives 'advice from someone who has been there, done that and got the t-shirt!'