Telling my parents I found my birth mother.

Ask members of TALKadoption about any adoption related issues.

Moderator: AfterAdoption

Telling my parents I found my birth mother.

Postby becs1975 » Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:08 pm

Hello, I'm new to ths forum, and could do with some advice.

Last friday, after years of half-heartedly looking for my birth mother, I struck gold, on Facebook. I messaged a lady with my birth surname, asking if she had a relative called Catherine ( my birth mother). Anyway, to cut a long story short, she told me her husband had an aunt catherine, so her husband is my cousin. We talked on the phone, and I explained who I was. Turns out I was known about. My cousin seems like such a nice guy, and told me I have loads of cousins, and that he's really pleased I got in touch and would love to meet, which we are doing this sunday.

They told another aunty, who is closest to my birth mother, and she told my birth mother I had made contact. I'm told she was tearful and excited, and would love to meet me. So far, the responses I've had have been even better than I could ever have dreamed of. I feel like I'm finally going to be getting some closure. Even just to see a photo of her, to put a face to this mysterious person I've dreamed about since i was a little girl, I can't find adequate words to describe.

My problem is this- I was going to keep it quiet from my adoptive parents, but I feel like I should be honest with them. But I'm so scared it will hurt them, or change our relationship. They have been the best parents ever, even though i was the teenager from hell, we are close now. But I feel I have to do this. I'm 35 now, she's nearly 60. I just really want this, but don't want to hurt them.

Should I tell them? How should I tell them?

In such turmoil here, never had such bad butterflies in my tummy!
becs1975

Postby Highland Lassie1 » Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:30 pm